• Header

A review of the Stalingrad: 1942-1943 boxed set

Больше
1 год 8 мес. назад#48223от JonDee
JonDee создал эту тему: A review of the Stalingrad: 1942-1943 boxed set
Here is a copy of my English-language review of Stalingrad: 1942-1943 which I posted on BoardGameGeek, HERE.

Russian miniatures-and-games company Zvezda has just released the latest boxed set in their Art of Tactic World War II series: “World War II: Stalingrad 1942-1943", which I'm calling "Battle for Stalingrad” here.

When I first saw early information about the set’s contents, I knew I would have to evaluate this game from two different directions. First: how well did Zvezda accomplish what they set out to do? Second: how well did they accomplish what I had hoped for them to do?

The Battle for Stalingrad game box

Setup for Scenario 1

Ever since I started playing Zvezda’s WW II series, I’ve been waiting to see their treatment of Stalingrad. It would be a chance to see a native Russian game company’s portrayal of that infamous, sprawling, epic, and horrifying battle amongst the rubble of a bombed-out city. I wanted to recreate the bitter contest between exhausted, starving men locked in a terrifying struggle, pushed to the limit, ill-equipped and desperate yet fiercely resolute to the end.

Let me start by saying at the outset: this is not that game. As a representation of the cataclysmic Battle for Stalingrad and everything most people associate with that terrible cauldron, I think this game fails badly. This is partly due to the tiny handful of units in the box that are used to portray such a titanic struggle. It’s also because there are no new rules provided to capture the special tactical and logistical challenges that loomed over the battle. In this regard, the game is a lost opportunity.